About Us

The Jackson Free Clinic (JFC) is run by medical students at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson as well as volunteer physicians from the local community. It offers non-emergency medical care, including evaluation, testing, prescription drugs and education, to individuals who cannot pay.

JFC2.jpgStaffing for our clinic is solely on a volunteer basis. The student-run Jackson Free Clinic was created to increase access to health care and assist in restoring health and employment in an underserved population. We focus on major health care issues affecting under-served individuals by providing high quality and caring treatment and education for prevention of acute and chronic medical conditions. Through our efforts, we strive to decrease the emotional and financial burden on the uninsured and society.

The clinic, located at 925 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd,  is open from 11:30AM-4:30PM on Saturdays. It is staffed by volunteer medical students including, but not limited to, one upperclassman (third- or fourth-year medical student). Each Saturday, there is at least one volunteer physician who supervises patient care.

History

In the fall of 2000, Dr. Joyce Olutade, an assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine at UMMC, addressed the student leaders of the Family Medicine Interest Group. She proposed a student-run health clinic to serve the indigent and homeless populations of Jackson. She had recently worked in a similar facility in California, and felt Jackson would benefit from this type of clinic. The clinic would provide a needed service while allowing medical students to gain knowledge and experience in a clinic setting. An organizational meeting was held, and six medical students began working to make this idea a reality.

 

Mission statement

  • To provide high-quality health services to individuals in Jackson who have inadequate access to medical care. Our services include examination, treatment, education, preventive care and referrals to appropriate community resources when necessary;
  • To provide the opportunity for medical students to learn from physicians, patients and other medical students in a collaborative, professional setting;
  • To promote awareness of the ongoing needs of our patients.

 

Our Board Members

Ann Marie Mercier, M4
Chairperson of the Board
ammercier@umc.edu

Morgan Davis, M3
Secretary
medavis@umc.edu

Jack Fitzpatrick, M3
Treasurer
jfitzpatrick@umc.edu

Johnny Lippincott, M4
Structure Director
jlippincott@umc.edu

Jessica Arnold, M4
Student Volunteer Director
jrarnold@umc.edu

Hannah Miller, M3
Student Volunteer Director
hmmiller@umc.edu

Ford Franklin, M2
Student Volunteer Director
jffranklin@umc.edu

Logan Ramsey, M3
Physician Volunteer Director
lramsey@umc.edu

Mary Elizabeth Butts, M3
Physician Volunteer Director
mebutts@umc.edu

Hadley Pearson, M4
Acquisitions Director
hjpearson@umc.edu

Claire Harkey, M4
Acquisitions Director
charkey@umc.edu

Brent Treadway, M3
Acquisitions Director
btreadway@umc.edu

Patrick Wood, M3
Community Relations Director
rwood@umc.edu

John Bobo, M2
Community Relations Director
jfbobo@umc.edu


John Yi, M2
Research Director
jyi@umc.edu

Hobart Zhu, M3
Information Technology Director
zzhu@umc.edu

Lauren Deaver, M4
Education Director
ldeaver@umc.edu

Annie Folks, M3
Education Director
afolks@umc.edu

Salma Dawoud, M4
Grant Writing Director
sdawoud@umc.edu

Connor Tierney, M3
Grant Writing Director
ctierney@umc.edu

Kinnara Vasamsetti
Dental Student Director
kvasamsetti@umc.edu

Maureen Malingkas
Dental Secretary
mmalingkas@umc.edu

Tanner Lee
Student Director of Therapy and Rehab, SHRP
tlee23@umc.edu

Alyssa Bryant
Student Director of Therapy and Rehab, SHRP
adavis14@umc.edu

Lauren Ramsey
Pharmacy Student Director
lmhamilt@go.olemiss.edu

Kaitlyn Jones
Pharmacy Student Director
kcjones1@go.olemiss.edu

Dr. David Norris
Medical Director
drnorris@umc.edu 

Thomas Bellinder
Community/Legal
thomas.bellinder@gmail.com